Skip to content

My Broomtree….

November 20, 2010

3 Elijah was afraid and ran for his life. When he came to Beersheba in Judah, he left his servant there, 4 while he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness. He came to a broom bush, sat down under it and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, LORD,” he said. “Take my life; I am no better than my ancestors.” 5 Then he lay down under the bush and fell asleep. [1 kings 19:3-5]

I had my broom tree moment yesterday. Someone told me that I did not know and was not preaching the correct gospel. I felt so tired of the struggle. I felt like I simply didn’t didn’t have enough fight left in me. I just wanted to curl up into a little ball, and just quit. It made me start resenting the call God had placed on my life. It made me start feeling angry that the Lord would call me into something and then leave me there to fend for myself. I felt like i simply had nothing left, and i felt like collapsing into a little Dora pile and like Elijah saying to God “I have had enough, Lord.”

In that moment, God whispered to me “what are you doing here? have you gotten so used to seeing the display of my power work around you that you have missed the display of my power at work within you?” He is on my side, and i hope and pray that i never forget it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

